Tanzania Travel Info

Tanzania is formed by the united Republic of Tanganyika with a small archipelago consisting of Unguja (Commonly referred to as Zanzibar Island), Pemba and Several small surrounding Islands. In the United Republic…

Tanzania is formed by the united Republic of Tanganyika with a small archipelago consisting of Unguja (Commonly referred to as Zanzibar Island), Pemba and Several small surrounding Islands.

In the United Republic of Tanzania the whole republic covers an area of 943,400 km, where as Tanganyika won her Independence on December 9, 1961. And together with Zanzibar, which had won hers on December 10, two years later, formed a Union resulting into the birth of the united Republic of Tanzania on April 26 th 1964.

Neighbouring Countries: It's neighbors are Kenya and Uganda in the north, with which she also forms the EAST AFRICA COMMUNITY (EAC) with his Headquarter (H.Q) in Arusha–Tanzania. In the west are Burundi, Rwanda, and the Democratic Republic of Congo. In the South are Malawi and Mozambique with which she shares membership in the southern Africa Development Community, (SADC). This location makes it a splendid centre from which to explore eastern, central and Southern Africa.

The People: Tanzania is the Peace of heaven it has got 108 tribes; some of the popular tribes are the Maasai, Pastoralists and also the hardies traditionalist, Wachagga, Wahaya and Wasukuma. The majority are of Bantu which is estimated 95% and the rest are Arabs, Europeans, Asians, and others.

Religions: Tanzania has two main religious estimated Christian 45%, Muslim 40% and other beliefs 15%.

Geographical Location: Tanzania is the largest country in Eastern Africa lies on the East Africa coast between 1 and 11.45 ' latitudes south of the Equator and 29.20 ' and 40.35 ' longitudes east. And it covers an are of 945,234sq kms.

Administrative capital - Dodoma: (population 85,000), a seat for the Union parliament, Prime minister's office and the ministry for Regional and local Government.

Commercial Capital: Dar es Salaam, the main harbour, and major trading centre with a population 2.5 million.

Population: Tanzania has a population approaching 35,000,000 with the mainland accounting for over 33,500,000 and Zanzibar almost 1,000,000 Dar es Salaam populations is 2,500,000.

Loacal time: GMT + 3

Language: Kiswahili and English are the official language spoken throughout the country and used as a communication medium.

Electricity: The local electricity supply is 230-240 volts, 50cycles Ac.

Prevalent weather conditions of an Areas (THE GAME RESERVES)

The climate in General is tropical on the coast on the Island and Selous. It is temperate in the other Reserves. The wide diversity of altitude, climate and terrain contrasts from the arid north central Great Rift Valley to the fertile highlands of Mount Kilimanjaro, Meru and the many volcanic craters in that region. The fictitious grassland Savannahs of the Serengeti and northern Masailand are Unique their divensity of wildlife, while the central and South-Western regions consist of woodlands known as Miombo forest. The Miombo terrain in turn offers an entirely different species of game not found in the northern region. The country has also many of the greatest and least known river systems on the continents, as well as Huge Swamplands, lakes and the open plains.

Hottest/coolest period: October to mid-March is the hottest period. June to September is the coolest period.

Coolest Period: The northern part of Arusha and Moshi together with the highland Areas (Southern part of Tanzania is very cold from May to August.

Temperatures: The range of temperature is fairly limited and it is always hot between 24-280 c and 300 c on the coast and in the north is between 2-270 c. And the Ocean temperature is between 24-390 c.

Rainfall Pattern: There is light rainfall in September–November and the rainy season (longest and heaviest rains) are from mid – March to the May.

Dry Season: The dry season is in June – October.

Conditions of Entry: A part from valid passport, all foreigners require visas except those whose countries are members of the common wealth, the Republic of Ireland and Scandinavian countries. Visas can be obtained from Tanzania Missions abroad or at major points of entry. Tourist visa can also be obtained at major entry points such as Dar es Salaam, Kilimanjaro and Zanzibar International Airports, and order at Namanga, Tunduma, Holili, Taveta, Sirari and Horohoro. It's advisable to get a free visitor's pass from Tanzania diplomatic missions before leaving home country.

Customs: You may import wine and spirits to the volume of 1 lts, perfume up to 250 m/s and 200 gm cigarettes, or 50 cigars tobacco (tax free). But these must be in the possession of visitors above the age of 16 years.

Airport Tax: An air departure tax of USD 30 in payable in hard currency (not in TC's) on internal airport tax TShs 5,000 or USD 6 applicable.

Working Hours

Government Offices: Monday to Friday from 7:30 to 3:30 pm

Banks: Monday to Friday from 8:30 to 3:30 except CRDB 4:00 pm

Saturday from 8:30am to 12:00 Noon

N.B: Few Bureau de change open on Sundays and some are closed on Saturdays.

Tax: The following services are taxed.

  • An airport tax of USD per ticket must be paid on departure.
  • (Zanzibar) a tax of USD 5 for every ticket – holder travelling through the seaports.
  • A 15% hotel levy for every bed used or 20% VAT is included.

NB: Local authorities may impose other taxes in their areas for specific objectives. (Obtain and keep all receipts, whenever payment is made).

Related Information

Featured Information

Oct 30
Lake Nyasa
0   11
Posted In: Country Information

Tanzania Travel Info

Tanzania is formed by the united Republic of Tanganyika with a small archipelago consisting of Unguja…